Mother Accused of DUI with Child in Car

A mother was arrested in Marion County after she was accused of driving under the influence while her 2-year-old daughter slept in a car seat in the back seat.

The 26-year-old faces charges of DUI and child neglect.

The Marion County Sheriff’s Office said they received a phone call from someone about a possible drunk driver on Baseline Road Wednesday night.

According to reports, a deputy got behind the woman’s vehicle and observed it cross the center lane and weave in and out of traffic.

2719031_cfd70da743_mThe deputy pulled the woman over and claims she failed several sobriety tests. The report said she told a deputy she was on a medication. The woman was arrested.

The incident report shows that the woman passed the breathalyzer test, but later admitted to taking a type of medication. Sheriff’s deputies believe that she was impaired, possibly by a medication or narcotic.

The woman has a previous DUI charge and probation violations.

Facing any type of DUI charge is quite stressful. When a child is in the car during the arrest, however, penalties will enhance drastically. Florida has strict laws regarding DUI, and if a child is present in a DUI case, you could be facing a mandatory fine, jail time, driver’s license revocation and other harsh penalties.

If you have been charged with a DUI with a child in the car, you are most likely feeling overwhelmed. It is important to remember that an arrest does not guarantee a conviction. A Florida DUI Defense Lawyer at Whittel & Melton can investigate your case to uncover any flaws with the hopes of getting your charges reduced or dismissed, or even fight for a not-guilty verdict if necessary. Call us today at 352-726-0078 or contact us online for a free consultation.

 

Contact Information