Tampa, Florida DUI Attorney :: Hillsborough County Firefighter Arrested for Second DUI

Tampa police arrested a 48-year-old Hillsborough County firefighter Tuesday around 9:40 p.m. for DUI. According to MSNBC, the man was not working that evening.

Police stopped the man for allegedly driving his 2000 Ford Focus without its headlights on.
Police reports show the man’s breath-test readings for blood-alcohol content at 0.176 and 0.171.

The Tampa, FL man was arrested in 2008 for DUI. A spokesman for the Hillsborough County State Attorney’s Office said he pleaded guilty and received 12 months probation, 50 hours of community service and his driver’s license was revoked for six months.

If you have been arrested for DUI and the arrest occurred within five years of a previous DUI conviction, then under Florida law your DUI will qualify as a second DUI within five years. This charge can carry a shocking five year revocation of your Florida driver’s license. If the DUI arrest is outside the five years of a previous DUI conviction, the law can seek punishments similar to a first time DUI with maximum jail time at nine months, fines between $1,000 and $2,000 and installation of an ignition interlock device for one year. After a second DUI conviction, a driver is not eligible for a hardship license following an administrative suspension.

If your DUI conviction falls within five years of a prior DUI conviction your penalties can include at least 10 days in jail with a maximum incarceration period of nine months, unless your BAC reading was beyond .15, which could elevate jail time to 12 months. Along with time served comes a probation period of 12 months and fines between $1,000 and $2,000, unless your BAC reading was beyond .15, which could raise fines to a maximum of $4,000. A mandatory ignition interlock device can be placed on your car for at least 12 months with a maximum time period of 24 months. While the driver’s license revocation period for a second DUI within five years is five years, you could be eligible for a hardship reinstatement hearing after one year.


If you have been arrested for a second DUI in the state of Florida, contact the Florida DUI Attorneys at the Law Offices of Whittel & Melton, LLC online or call 1-866-608-5LAW (5529).

Contact Information